## Jefferson Township Re-organization Meeting Carsonville Fire Company Building January 3, 2022

Alan Loesch made a motion to appoint Alan Loesch as temporary Chairman. Seconded by Dennis Morgan. All in favor.

Alan Loesch, Temporary Chairman, called the meeting to order at 7:00 PM. Present: Supervisors Alan Loesch, Dennis Morgan, Keith Crum. Absent: Robyn Loesch Secretary/Treasurer.

## **APPOINTMENT OF POSITIONS**

- **A.** Motion to nominate Temporary Secretary:
  - 1. Alan Loesch made a motion to appoint Alan Loesch as temporary Secretary to take minutes. Seconded by Dennis Morgan. All in favor.
- **B.** One motion was made by Alan Loesch, seconded by Dennis Morgan to appoint all the following for 2022. All in favor.
  - 1. Alan Loesch as Chairman
  - 2. Dennis Morgan as Vice Chairman
  - 3. Keith Crum as Roadmaster
  - 4. Stan Laskowski from the law firm of Caldwell & Kearns as Township Solicitor.
  - 5. Brad Crum to serve as Chairman of the Vacancy Board.
  - Brian McFeaters Enforcement Officer.
  - 7. John Madden as the Alternate SEO.
  - 8. Brenda Osman to serve as Emergency Management Coordinator
  - 9. Alan Loesch as representative to the Upper Dauphin Council of Governments.
  - 10. Light Heigel as Township engineer.
  - 11. Light Heigel as Permit and Code Enforcement Officers
  - 12. Halifax National Bank as the Township Financial Depository
  - 13. Meetings
    - Monthly meetings will be held on the first Thursday of each month except October on the 2<sup>nd</sup> Thursday and December on the 3<sup>rd</sup> Thursday.
    - Meetings will start at 7:00 PM with a working session for the Supervisors that is open to the public but with no public participation. The Regular meeting will follow at 7:30 PM.
  - 14. Certify all Supervisors and the Secretary as Delegates to the annual State Association Convention and appoint Alan Loesch as the voting delegate.
- **C.** Wages & Bonding One motion was made by Alan Loesch to approve the following wages and Treasurer's bond. Motion passed 3-0.
  - 1. Wages for Labor
    - All plowing and labor: \$15.00/hour

- Overtime: Time and one half will be paid for hours worked over (8) per day, and hours worked over (40) per week. Overtime must be approved by the Roadmaster before it is worked, except in the case of emergencies such as snow removal.
- All supervisors are appointed to work in any capacity with the same recommended \$15.00/ hr wages proposed to be paid for all labor (Supervisor wages must be set by the Auditors).
- 2. The Treasurers Bond set at \$200,000.
- **D.** Resolution #343-2019, which appointed Kaye Thoma as our voting delegate to the Dauphin County Tax Collection Committee and Alan Loesch as the alternate delegate, is still in effect so no vote was needed.
- **E.** Dennis Morgan made a motion to appoint Robyn Loesch as Secretary/Treasurer with the following pay and appointments. Second by Dennis Morgan. Motion passed 2-0 with Alan Loesch abstaining.
  - 1. Motion to set the pay rate for the Secretary/Treasurer at \$700.00 payable at each regular monthly Township meeting for services performed during the previous month.
    - If the person appointed as Secretary/Treasurer changes, the incoming and outgoing persons shall be paid on a prorated basis based on the number of days each worked during the month when the change occurred.
    - If the Township receives a grant or emergency financial aid from County, State or Federal Government or from any other source and that grant or aid includes an allowance for administrative support, the Secretary/Treasurer shall be eligible for that administrative payment in addition to the normal monthly amount if the Supervisors appoint the Secretary/Treasurer as the person to perform that administrative work. (Note; The Supervisors may appoint anyone to perform the Administrative work, not just the Secretary/Treasurer.)
  - 2. The Secretary is appointed as the Township's Right to Know Officer.
- **F.** The existing fee schedules as set by Resolution #344-2019 were reviewed and no changes were proposed. Therefore, those fees remain in force and no vote was needed.

Alan Loesch made a motion to adjourn the reorganization meeting. Second by Dennis Morgan. All in favor. Meeting adjourned at 7:08 pm.