JEFFERSON TOWNSHIP Special Meeting Carsonville Fire Company Building January 17, 2010

# **CALL TO ORDER**

The January 17, 2010 Special Meeting of the Jefferson Township Board of Supervisors was called to order at 9:53 AM by Chairman Alan Loesch.

Members present: Chairman Alan Loesch, Supervisor Keith Crum, Supervisor Margaret Peterson.

Secretary present: Robyn Loesch

Guests present: Pam Crum.

### **OLD BUSINESS - NONE**

### **NEW BUSINESS**

- 1. Jayme Wentzel has notified the Upper Dauphin School District that she has moved out of the Township and therefore is resigning as Tax Collector. Both the UD School District and the Dauphin County Tax Bureau have been in contact with the Township about this resignation and outstanding reports and unremitted tax money. The Local Tax Collector reports are still outstanding and due to the County by January 19<sup>th</sup>, 2010. Several residents have already contacted the Township and School District because their checks from the end of last year have still not been cashed by the Local Tax Collector.
- 2. The County/Township 2010 tax bills were being sent to the printer last Thursday. At this point, the County will be sending out the Township's 2010 tax bills, remittance to "Jefferson Township Tax Collector, 3155 Powells Valley Rd. Halifax, PA." The County will provide follow-up letters with the name, mailing address, phone number, and office hours of the Township's newly appointed Tax Collector.
- 3.Alan Loesch made a motion to a appoint Brenda Osman as Tax Collector of Jefferson Township based on Jayme Wentzel's verbal resignation and pending receipt of her written resignation. Seconded by Margaret Peterson. All in favor. Motion carried 3-0.
- 4. Alan Loesch made a motion to pay the tax collector bond bill for 2010 immediately. Seconded by Keith Crum. All in favor. Motion carried 3-0.

#### PUBLIC COMMENT

Pam Crum commented that the Township's 2009 audit has been completed, the audit went well, and the Secretary has done a good job.

# **ADJOURNMENT**

Alan Loesch motioned to adjourn the meeting, second by Margaret Peterson. All were in favor and the meeting adjourned at 9:56 AM.

Robyn Loesch Secretary/Treasurer